50 Comments
Nov 26, 2022Liked by Mike Trapp

When people say "make a big choice" or that actor did great because they made a big choice, what do people generally mean? I feel like folks tend to have slightly different definitions, so I'm curious as to what yours is, and how one can go about coming up with and making those sorts of choices?

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2022Liked by Mike Trapp

I got a note on a recent sketch that was to think about the weird character's justification for what they were doing. In my rewrite, I think I focused too much on the justification, and it felt flat. The beats didn't heighten, it was almost just a debate between the characters about the weird character's viewpoint. As though I was trying to heighten the justification for the weird thing instead of the weird thing itself.

Does that make sense? Is this something you see often, and do you have any advice for how to handle heightening the unusual thing instead of a character's justification for the unusual thing?

Expand full comment

I’m loving Chuffah and I’ve learned so much!!

My question is this: what are you working on right now? You alluded to doing TV stuff in another post. If you don’t want to/can’t share that is totally fine!

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2022·edited Nov 25, 2022Liked by Mike Trapp

Hey Mike, any pointers on improving/practicing sketch acting (or for masking weaker acting)? I hate for a finely-tuned script to be let down by its execution.

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2022Liked by Mike Trapp

When you have a premise that you think has potential for comedy, what's your method for determining the best format for the joke? When you've got an idea, how do you decide whether it should be a sketch, standup bit, tweet, etc?

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2022·edited Nov 25, 2022

I’ve seen a few twitter threads recently of people discovering “31 Words that sound like slurs but aren’t”, and maybe don’t have the most positive reaction. 7 years and 15 million views later, how do you feel about that one? To be clear I don’t mean this as a gotcha or a hit piece, I’m just really interested to know how someone involved in a sketch feels about it when it no longer feels like the sort of thing they’d make now?

Expand full comment

I've been messing around with this new chatGPT and it feels like a great idea generator. It's like having an AI writers room. It would be interesteing to hear your thoughts on this new tech if you try it out.

Expand full comment

Hey Trapp!

I've been enjoying more absurd sketches lately but I'm not always sure what the "truth" is in them.

https://www.tiktok.com/t/ZTR4hMcLf/

In the example above, is the relatability/truth factor just that the waiter wants a hug and affection like any other human being?

I think a lot of Tim Robinson's stuff comes down to emotional relatability too, although it's obviously very heightened in his characters.

Expand full comment

What’s the best place to get a sandwich near Dartmouth?

Expand full comment

Been thinking recently, and come to this realization ( or is it more like a no brainer) : The truth in comedy, or the truthfulness, it has to be juxtaposed by the absurd? Or the way I've been noticing it more: there has to be some sort of "negative" thing being looked at.

I don't know, but when i think about sketches and stuff, even if there is something really outlandish, there is like a ohno thing going on. Shaudefrude?

Maybe a better question, one that you could actually answer: How can i recreate the funny moment, or the joke, on command? how much premise is needed, cause lots of the time i end up telling "one time at band camp..." stories. ( example above) Ps. huge fan of the college humor stuff.

Expand full comment

Hey Mike!

What's your take on the Second City approach to sketch writing where you improvise a scene, re-improvise it, and write that sucker from there?

I did levels 1-5 but the last part struck me as odd

Expand full comment

What books do you wish more people have read so you can talk about with them? Are there any shows/books/movies/properties you wish you could have an Um Actually question about but haven't had the right audience yet?

Expand full comment

As a person, I don’t usually like the idea of networking, as it feels like you’re using people to further your own goals. And the last thing I ever want to do while trying to get my self out there is feel like I’m using people. What advice do you have on networking with others, especially when working with others from ucb.

Expand full comment

I just auditioned for and was selected for my first improv troupe. Any advice? Any comments or concerns? I'm very nervous.

Expand full comment

Do you have any tips for getting integrated into your local comedy community? I’m a solid writer/performer, but with my social anxiety I’m having difficulty breaking into the scene.

Also, do you have any movies you’d recommend for an aspiring comedy writer? I watched the Jerk for the first time recently & it had me crying with laughter.

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2022·edited Nov 25, 2022

What is a great episode to watch you in on Dropout? Apart from Uhm actually ofc.

Expand full comment

Which sketch you wrote for CollegeHumor that was made and uploaded are you LEAST proud of?

And for balance, which one are you MOST proud of?

Expand full comment